Women's Cross-Country Completes Season With Trip To Regionals

Sabrina Roldan led Felician at the NCAA Division II East Regional with a time of 25:04 for 6K. (Ellen O'Brien)
Sabrina Roldan led Felician at the NCAA Division II East Regional with a time of 25:04 for 6K. (Ellen O'Brien)

HOPKINTON, N.H. – The Felician University women's cross-country team completed its 2015 season by competing in the NCAA Division II East Regional championship, hosted by Franklin Pierce University at Hopkinton State Fairgrounds, on Sunday morning. The Golden Falcons placed 26th out of the 28 complete squads in attendance.

The Regional Championship is contested on a 6,000-meter course. Junior Sabrina Roldan (Woodbridge, N.J./Woodbridge) was Felician's frontrunner. She matched her time at last year's regional of 25 minutes, four seconds, and sat 108th out of 186 entrants.

The next three Golden Falcon scorers established career-best 6K times. For the first time this season, junior Kate Rohsler (Fredon, N.J./Kittatinny Regional) was Felician's No. 2 finisher. She completed the course in 26:29 and placed 154th. Right behind with a 26:30 and a 156th-place result was senior Michelle Camacho (Moonachie, N.J/Wood-Ridge).

Rounding out the Golden Falcon scorers were junior Natasha Gonel (Howell, N.J./Howell) (167th, 27:32) and senior Sam Kamphausen (East Rutherford, N.J./Becton) (182nd, 30:58.).

With 750 points, Felician edged out 27th-place Molloy College by two points. The Golden Falcons were 82 points behind Caldwell University in 25th.

Stonehill College easily won the team championship with 48 points. Roberts Wesleyan University (128 points) and St. Thomas Aquinas College (160) earned the region's other two automatic bids to the NCAA Division II National Championship, with STAC finishing 18 points ahead of fourth-place Daemen College.

Stonehill's Nicole Borofski was the individual winner with a time of 21:12. The next three finishers – Sarah Jerotich of New York Institute of Technology, Mackenzie Donahue of Daemen, and Tara Dooley of Bentley University – gained individual berths into the nationals.