Women's Cross-Country Begins 2015 At Philly Metro Meet

Michelle Camacho was one of five returnees to start for Felician on Sept. 12, 2015. (Ellen O'Brien)
Michelle Camacho was one of five returnees to start for Felician on Sept. 12, 2015. (Ellen O'Brien)

PHILADELPHIA – The Felician College women's cross-country team began its 2015 campaign with a 12th place finish out of 16 schools at the 36th Annual Philadelphia Metropoltan Invitational, hosted by Philadelphia University on Saturday afternoon at Belmont Plateau. Felician placed eighth out of the nine Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference members who were in attendance.

A humid, 80-degree afternoon welcomed a field of 115 runners. The veteran Golden Falcon squad placed three members of their pack among the top half of the racers, led by a 43rd-place finish from junior Sabrina Roldan (Woodbridge, N.J./Woodbridge). Roldan traversed the 5,000-meter course in 23 minutes, 36 seconds.

Senior Michelle Camacho (Moonachie, N.J./Wood-Ridge) finished 47th with a time of 23:53, and junior Kate Rohsler (Fredon, N.J./Kittatinny Regional) placed 52nd in 24:18.

Also scoring for Felician were senior Sam Kamphausen (East Rutherford, N.J./Becton Regional) (93rd, 28:37), and junior Natasha Gonel (Howell, N.J./Howell) (101st, 30:25).

Felician's 291 points were 14 better than 13th place Rosemont College, and 19 ahead of fellow CACC member Holy Family University in 14th. The Golden Falcons were just two points behind 11th-place The Lincoln University.

The host Rams put all five of their scorers among the top 15 finishers to win the team championship for the eighth consecutive year. Philadelphia scored 46 points, 12 fewer than runner-up Nyack College. Senior Alyssa Lambert of Franklin Pierce University was the individual winner. She crossed the finish line in 20:27, leading the Ravens to fourth place in the team standings.

In a collegiate cross-country meet, each team is allowed to enter seven official runners, with the top five counting in the scoring. A team is assigned points based on each runner's finish in the race, with the lowest score winning.