2007 Felician Men's X-C Team To Be Honored By CACC On Saturday

2007 Felician Men's X-C Team To Be Honored By CACC On Saturday

RUTHERFORD, N.J. – The 2007 Felician College men's cross-country team will be inducted into the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Hall of Fame during a ceremony at Job Gymnasium in Rutherford on Saturday, December 3.

The CACC Hall of Fame is in its second year of existence. Felician's 2007 men's cross-country squad becomes the first team inducted to the group, which also now contains nine individuals. More information is available at http://caccathletics.org/sports/General/929HOF.

The Golden Falcons will be honored between the women's basketball and men's basketball games pitting Felician (now known as Felician University) against Bloomfield College on Saturday. The women's game begins at 1 p.m., with the induction to follow at mid-court. Felician president Dr. Anne M. Prisco and CACC commissioner Dan Mara will be on hand to present the team for induction.

In fall 2007, Felician claimed its sixth CACC men's cross-country championship, and fourth consecutively. At Belmont Plateau in Philadelphia, the Golden Falcons scored 22 points, 31 better than their nearest competitor. All seven of Felician's entrants in the conference championship race were accorded all-CACC status, the first time in league history that feat had been accomplished.

Senior Paul Chegwidden, currently of Millburn, won the race, setting a meet record in the process, and was named CACC Runner of the Year. Freshman Jay Rodgers, now living in Philadelphia, finished third and had CACC Rookie of the Year honors bestowed upon him. Golden Falcon head coach John Brennan of Clark collected the CACC Coach of the Year award.

Felician team members in 2007 were seniors Mike Burghoffer, Jonathan Castro, Chegwidden, and Brian McDonnell; junior Alex Wright; sophomore Brad Schepise; and freshmen Dan Cugini, Chris Harvey, Brenden Krewer, Jay Rodgers, and Huan Tran. Assisting Brennan on the coaching staff were Sebastian Powell of West Orange and Pete O'Connor of Suffern, N.Y.

Ticket prices on Saturday are $5 for adults and $2 for children. Members of the Felician community will be admitted free with proper identification. One ticket is valid for both games and the ceremony.

Joining the Felician team in the CACC Hall of Fame Class of 2016-17 are Mike McLaughlin, women's basketball coach at Holy Family University from 1995-2009; Matthew Stuart, Caldwell College men's basketball student-athlete from 1990-94; and Heather Walker, Georgian Court University women's volleyball and softball student-athlete from 2004-08.

Felician University is a member of NCAA Division II.


Felician University, the Franciscan University of New Jersey, is a liberal arts, coeducational Catholic university founded in 1942 and sponsored by the Felician Sisters. True to its mission, Felician University welcomes a diverse student population and embraces its educational needs. With campuses in Lodi and Rutherford, New Jersey, Felician University currently enrolls more than 2,100 students and offers more than 55 undergraduate and graduate programs, in the classroom and online, in the arts and sciences, business and management sciences, health sciences and teacher education. Felician University also sponsors 14 varsity intercollegiate sports that compete at the NCAA Division II level.