2007 Felician Men's X-C Team Elected To CACC Hall Of Fame

2007 Felician Men's X-C Team Elected To CACC Hall Of Fame

RUTHERFORD, N.J. – The 2007 Felician College men's cross-country team has been elected to the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Hall of Fame, CACC Commissioner Dan Mara announced on Thursday.

The CACC Hall of Fame is in its second year of existence. Felician's 2007 men's cross-country squad becomes the first team inducted to the group, which also now contains nine individuals.

More information is available at http://caccathletics.org/sports/General/929HOF.

In fall 2007, Felician claimed its sixth CACC men's cross-country championship, and fourth consecutively. At Belmont Plateau in Philadelphia, the Golden Falcons scored 22 points, 31 better than its nearest competitor. All seven of Felician's entrants in the conference championship race were accorded all-CACC status, the first time in league history that feat had been accomplished.

Senior Paul Chegwidden won the race, setting a meet record in the process, and was named CACC Runner of the Year. Freshman Jay Rodgers finished third and had CACC Rookie of the Year honors bestowed upon him. Golden Falcon head coach John Brennan collected the CACC Coach of the Year award.

The other Felician runners to earn all-conference honors in 2007 were sophomore Brad Schepise (6th), senior Mike Burghoffer (7th), senior Brian McDonnell (8th), junior Alex Wright (11th), and freshman Brenden Krewer (12th).

Assisting Brennan on the coaching staff that season were Sebastian Powell and Pete O'Connor. Senior Jonathan Castro, freshman Dan Cugini, freshman Chris Harvey, and freshman Huan Tran rounded out Felician's 2007 roster.

As a prelude to their CACC Championship success, Chegwidden and the Golden Falcons won the Philly Metro Invitational, also held at Belmont Plateau, earlier that season. Felician would go on to finish 15th out of 26 schools at the NCAA East Regional Championship, with Chegwidden placing 38th of 172 individuals.

Felician, now known at Felician University, will honor the 2007 men's cross-country team between games of its 2017 Basketball Green-Out Night on a date to be determined.

Joining the Felician team in the CACC Hall of Fame Class of 2016 are Mike McLaughlin, women's basketball coach at Holy Family University from 1995-2009; Matthew Stuart, Caldwell College men's basketball student-athlete from 1990-94; and Heather Walker, Georgian Court University women's volleyball and softball student-athlete from 2004-08.

Felician University is a member of NCAA Division II.


Felician University, the Franciscan University of New Jersey, is a liberal arts, coeducational Catholic university founded in 1942 and sponsored by the Felician Sisters. True to its mission, Felician University welcomes a diverse student population and embraces its educational needs. With campuses in Lodi and Rutherford, New Jersey, Felician University currently enrolls more than 2,100 students and offers more than 55 undergraduate and graduate programs, in the classroom and online, in the arts and sciences, business and management sciences, health sciences and teacher education. Felician Univeristy also sponsors 14 varsity intercollegiate sports that compete at the NCAA Division II level.